Responsive image
Six Enugu assembly members dump Labour Party for PDP.
Responsive image

Six Labour Party lawmakers in the Enugu state house of assembly have defected to the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).
The speaker of the house, Uche Ugwu, announced the defection of the lawmakers while reading their letters at the plenary on Thursday.
The defectors are the majority leader representing Enugu north, Johnson Ani; the chief whip representing Igbo-eze north 1, Ejike Eze, and the deputy chief whip representing Enugu south rural, Princess Ugwu.
Others are Pius Ezugwu representing Nsukka east, Williams Amuka representing Igbo-Etiti west, and Osita Eze of Oji river.
The lawmakers in their letters, said the defection was due to irreconcilable division and incessant crises within the party at the national level and across all the state chapters.
According to them, the Labour Party has evolved into perpetual discord with various factions embroiled in legal battles, which undermined its ability to effectively serve the interest of the people.
With this development, the PDP now has the majority in the house with 17 members, while the Labour Party has six.

© 2024 Copyright. OGENE 98.3 FM